Epistemology

A summary of my initial thoughts draws (no pun) me back to the visual. Particularly in the use of perspective of the landscape, fields and composition of trees – as I write this it occurs to me that the author’s code for a ‘field of green’ has so many other connotations in visual discourse. So, the imperative to draw what you see not what you ‘know to be there’ is a familiar concept and serves as a warning to be aware of preconceptions.

Another related and reflective observation is that I often create rich, detailed visual stories in my imagination, often as a form of rehearsal for a new task to be undertaken (for example building a fence from scratch, including the selection of timber, measuring, marking, cutting and assembly) though entirely imaginary they seem real and are referred back to as the actual task unfolds. This rehearsal is also perhaps why I am beginning to consider existing sets of photographs from a visual ethnography perspective as ‘practice’: https://trberry.wordpress.com/category/field-work/

Now, considering my research, my background beliefs and knowledge are being formed as I read the literature and evaluate perspectives and discourses. In turn these are influencing methodologies, paradigms and even preconceptions of the environmental factors around my research. Would it be too simplistic to think that the situational justification is the means by which you test your belief justification constructed in this way? So, I think I am beginning to know more about the role(s) of the researcher and paradigms for carrying out doctoral research (in some ways the equivalent of rehearsing in the imagination) which itself provides me with an awareness of the breadth and depth of concerns and approaches appropriate to the task.

Concurrently, my reading of theories of learning is leading me towards an investigation into action or experiential learning in the context of industry working with HE to develop ‘fusion skills’ or the synthesis of the creative and the digital. So I am beginning to put in place belief justifications (I guess this is largely a subconscious process) and to think about the situational justification for those beliefs that will serve to build knowledge.

Leave a Reply

